Duplicate contacts can occur from various reasons and it is best practice to monitor these regularly and merge when necessary. This will keep your contact data up to date and flow through to more accurate reporting.
Navigate to Admin > Merge Contacts to display all possible duplicates.
The All Duplicates tab displays all the duplicates that have been found by the system and their assigned match score, showing how likely they are to be a duplicated contact.
As shown in the screenshot above, you are able to filter by match score and easily search for contacts by a specific name, address, email etc.
The grid displays the results in two halves, on the left-hand side the contact details are shown and then the possible duplicate contact shown on the right-hand side, the matching contacts showing across a horizontal row.
The checkboxes at the end of each row allow you to make bulk changes by selecting those you wish to remove or merge and processing them in one go. If selecting to merge the contacts, the contact on the left-hand side will be kept and the one on the right will be merged into this contact.
There are two options for merging, shown by the radio button options- Make Inactive and Delete. If selecting Make Inactive, the contact shown on the right-hand side will be changed to Inactive and Not OK to contact, if Delete is chosen the contact will be completely removed and this cannot be undone.
A pop-up will be displayed, asking you to confirm your merge(s) before the action is completed, clicking OK will process the merge and cancel will take you back to the grid if this was done in error. A second pop-up will show that your merges are being processed and you will receive an alert once completed
Click OK and continue using Vega, an alert will be displayed on your screen once the merge is completed.
The option to Remove Selected Matches can be used when it is known that the two contacts are not the same contact and should not be merged. This will remove it from the possible duplicate report and make it easier to maintain.
Match score explanation:
|100% match. All fields match exactly (blanks and nulls included)
|One field does not match.
|Two fields do not match.
|Only matched on Last Name and either Email or Phone or Address Line 1 match.
Once you've confirmed contacts to be merged they will no longer show under the All Duplicates tab but they will be available to review under Merge History. If the merge is still in progress the records will have a status of merge in progress otherwise the status will be merged.
An important thing to note in this section is if you have selected to delete a contact after merging, the merge history will display a snapshot of the contact who was deleted after the merge. This way if a person has been accidentally deleted you will still at least have their basic contact information and Vega ID. This report will also show you the user who processed the merge and the date.
Any contacts that were removed from the All Duplicates tab, will show here under the No Matches tab. These are all contacts that Vega matched as possible duplicates but a user has manually confirmed they should not be a match. This tab allows you to keep track of these and reverse it if necessary, rows can be selected with the end checkbox and then merged.
The final tab, Merge Contacts, allows you to merge one set of contacts at a time and you are able to decide on what contact will be kept and which will be made inactive or deleted.
The top section, the To Contact will be the contact you wish to keep, the bottom section, the From Contact will be the contact who is made inactive or deleted depending on the choice made. Use the Search by ID fields in each section to enter the Vega ID and click Search to find the correct contact, their information will be displayed in the fields shown.